The Student Council

In 2003 as a result of a series of questionnaires carried out with students, staff and parents a number of developmental priorities were chosen as needing immediate attention. The student body was anxious to have a Student Council as were many of the staff in order that the students would experience a greater sense of empowerment.

Mindful also of our obligations under the Education Act, a process of consultation with senior students and staff took place in order to arrive at a satisfactory Student Council Constitution where the aims and raison d’etre of the Council were clearly spelled out. The Student Council Constitution now in place had the approval of students, staff and Board of Management. 

Elections for the first Student Council took place in October 2004 and resulted in the election of a representative from each class in the school, leading to a 24 member Council. Students have permission to canvass the week before the election and the sense of excitement created around the school is palpable. Voting takes place by secret ballot and candidates are elected by simple majority vote.

The Role of The Council

Council members take their duties seriously and requests from the Council to school authorities have generally been very well received.  The Council each year focuses attention on raising items of concern to specific year groups as well as on events in “Spirit Week” – a special week of activities during May to raise morale and general pride and enjoyment in being part of this school.

Members of the Student Council endeavour to improve where possible the school and the daily lives of the students in a spirit of co-operative partnership.

The Student Council for 2016/2017 is:

Chairperson:                           Carolyn McCarthy

Deputy Chairperson:           Holly Hayes

Secretary:                                 Aisling Coase

Assistant Secretary:             Alex Deasy

Treasurer:                                Éibhinn Linehan

P.R Coordinator:                   Deirbhle Fergus and Stephanie Fitzpatrick part of the PRO Team

Liaison Teacher:   Mr. J. Bain

The Class Representatives for 2016/17 are: 
1B – Grace Gray                  1G – Cara Brady                       1M – Maya McCann            1T – Maria Conaty
2B – Ciara Kelley               2G – Clodagh Ting                  2M – Eve Golden                  2T – Freja McDonald
3B – Molly Byrne:             3G – Fireanna O'Brien           3M – Amanda Lynch           3T – Mollie Lalor
4B – Grace Tiernan          4G – Deirbhle Fergus             4M – Megan Corscadden  4T – Sarah Bannon
5B – Holly Hayes               5G – Alex Deasy                        5M – Éiblinn Linehan         5T – Aisling Coase
6B – Carolyn McCarthy  6G – Stephanie Fitzpatrick   6M – Aisling Moran           6T–Tara Montgomery